Emily Alone


Emily Alone, the new album by Florist, is out July 26th 2019.
All orders come with digital download.

Black & White vinyl in gatefold jacket limited to 300.

Bundle this record with more Florist merch!

"Emily Sprague’s folk music turns solitude into an evocation of spirits. Her latest album as Florist grapples with change, death, and uncertainty with some of the most arresting songwriting of the year." - Pitchfork

"There is transformative power coursing through the 12 songs on Emily Alone, the new album from indie-folk project Florist. It’s not loud or showy or self-serving or generous. It’s just there, simple and plainspoken, waiting to be engaged and willing to move through anyone who needs it." - Paste

Emily Alone is a collection of songs made by Florist songwriter Emily Sprague during a time of great stillness and isolation with the self. An attempt to capture the dark spaces between change and acknowledge their beauty. It is a natural, isolated, and momentary tangent away from the otherwise collaborative project that is Florist, while still maintaining the documentary nature of the band that, like all things, is a mutable entity in this universe. These songs, as they exist now, were born partly out of literal distance from her bandmates on the east coast, and partly out of urgency to translate an emotional moment.

Emily wrote and recorded all 12 tracks in her Los Angeles home during the last, rainy months of 2018. After moving to California from New York a year prior, Emily found herself in a transformative time of self exploration and independence after leaving the many lives she knew of as home on the east coast to start on a new journey. Living alone and separate from many of the things she once held most close, a deep dive into the dark void of the mind began.

There is a metaphysical quality to the songs as they search for meaning in existence, swaying between the mundane and the spiritual. Emily believes deeply in the magic and connectedness of all things. The album Emily Alone is the creation of a self reflective lens through which we can view that omnipresence of love and life and the energy of all things around us as well as within us.

  1. 01 As Alone
  2. 02 Moon Begins
  3. 03 Celebration
  4. 04 I Also Have Eyes
  5. 05 Ocean Arms
  6. 06 Time Is A Dark Feeling
  7. 07 M
  8. 08 Now
  9. 09 Rain Song
  10. 10 Still
  11. 11 Shadow Bloom
  12. 12 Today I'll Have You Around